get started


Membership Management


Advertising network

Reinstating Members

Last Update : August 2026


Admin Reinstate

To reinstate members, there are two steps - changing the member database, then dealing with the billing records.

 

1. Look them up in the member database admin area, click on chg, then change their status to active. Click Submit. This will update the member database, making the member active.

2. The billing record side is more complex. At the time the member was dropped, there are several possibilities regarding how the invoices and payments were left. To deal with the billing records, this could mean several things, so there is no hard-and-fast rule. You will need to analyze the billing records, and change things based on your best judgment in order to make things match the member's billing status. Here are some recommendations:

 

First, view transactions for the member.

  • If there are no invoices, you'll need to create one: use Enter Single Invoice Record from the billing menu.
  • If there is an invoice, is it paid?
  • If it's paid, you'll want to create a renewal invoice record- use Enter Single Invoice Record. When done, is the term of membership (effective and expiration date) correct?
  • If not, correct the terms of membership
  • If it's not paid, you may want to correct the term of membership to reflect the new term of membership for the member.


Self Reinstate

There are a couple of ways to have dropped members reinstate themselves, depending on the way members are being dropped.
If members retain their membership type and simply have their Status changed to 'dropped', members with unpaid invoices will be able to log in to pay their dues and reinstate their membership as long as the "Allow dropped, unpaid members to self-reinstate?" option is checked in Configuration > Billing. Members who had a paid invoice when they were dropped in this manner will need to contact an admin to reinstate themselves.

If members are dropped to a Prospect type, they will be able to continue logging in and accessing the Prospect members area (this is a very limited version of the Member's Area). There will be a link for the prospect to re-join as a member as long as the setting "Add Link for Prospects to Join on Main Menu" is checked in Configuration > Prospecting.